The South Devon Railway is hosting The Polar Express Train Ride event during November and December. This is the first time this event has come to South Devon, and it promises to provide a magical Christmas Experience for everyone, however it does mean there will be restricted access to Buckfastleigh Station on certain days.

The Polar Express Train Ride is a large event and sees a large number of people attending Buckfastleigh station. Our station forecourt has been transformed as part of the Polar Express show, and to ensure safety of all our visitors there is:

 NO access for public road vehicles to Buckfastleigh Station on days Polar Express is operating. Please be aware that if you do park in the car park when the access is open prior to the event start, you may not be able to leave until the event has finished at 2130.

Anyone attending for the Polar Express Train Ride will have been sent specific details of the Park and Ride arrangements with their tickets.

Any visitors to South Devon Railway Gifts and Models, Birdie’s Kitchen at the South Devon Railway, Dartmoor Otters and Buckfast Butterflies or general visitors to the station site including dog walkers, canoeists etc,  will not be able to arrive at Buckfastleigh station by car on days that Polar Express is operating.

A FREE park and ride service is available from River Dart Country Park, to bring you straight to Buckfastleigh station. Alternatively, visitors can park in one of the charged car parks in Buckfastleigh town (Station Road car park, TQ11 0BU is the nearest) and walk to the station.

Park and Ride buses operate frequently from an hour before the first Polar Express departure until 1900 each day, please refer to the below table for details of Polar Express dates and start times. The Park and Ride can be found at River Dart Country Park, Ashburton, Devon, TQ13 7NP. Look for Polar Express / Event Parking. What3Words users can use the following to find the entrance to the Park and Ride: ///coconuts.themes.included

Day of Polar Express Operation and restricted access First Polar Express departure First Park and Ride bus operates
Saturday 20th November 12.35pm 11.30am
Sunday 21st November 12.35pm 11.30am
Friday 26th November 12.35pm 11.30am
Saturday 27th November 12.35pm 11.30am
Sunday 28th November 12.35pm 11.30am
Thursday 2nd December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Friday 3rd December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Saturday 4th December 11.00am 10.00am
Sunday 5th December 11.00am 10.00am
Thursday 9th December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Friday 10th December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Saturday 11th December 11.00am 10.00am
Sunday 12th December 11.00am 10.00am
Wednesday 15th December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Thursday 16th December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Friday 17th December 2.40pm 1.30pm
Saturday 18th December 11.00am 10.00am
Sunday 19th December 11.00am 10.00am
Monday 20th December 11.00am 10.00am
Tuesday 21st December 11.00am 10.00am
Wednesday 22nd December 11.00am 10.00am
Thursday 23rd December 11.00am 10.00am
Like this article?
Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter

Company

South Devon Railway Trust, Registered Office:
The Station, Dartbridge Road, Buckfastleigh, Devon, TQ11 0DZ
Registered in England No. 01150799
Registered Charity No. 800299

Contact Us

T: 01364 644 370
E: trains@southdevonrailway.co.uk

© Copyright South Devon Railway

Scroll to Top